My Father Told Me

Telling your friends and family that you are leaving for four months to hike 2,600 miles is nerve wrecking. I really mean NERVE WRECKING because you do not know how they are going to react. You will receive a variety of variations ranging from, jealousy, ecstatic, and disappointment. The reactions from the people you truly care about can really effect you and possibly change your decision. If you remember from my past post, Into the Wild: My Dream to Complete the PCT, I received my final push from the book Into the Wild. The book made me realize I couldn’t keep talking myself out of it. Proving to myself I can do it and seeing the beauty the West has to offer.

It has now been two months since I decided to go on this journey and I am receiving a variety of mix reactions. Majority of the people that I have told look at me like I am crazy and it will never happen. Then there are the others who discourage the idea. I have constantly been asked, “Why would you do that?” or “You are an accountant right?” These individuals don’t understand and don’t really know me. They look at the trail as a waste of time and think the most important thing is moving up the corporate ladder and making money. Although I want to and will be successful professionally, I want to experience life and not live my life with regret. I have multiple friends who understand this notation and have even asked to join me on the trail or to hike sections with me. The biggest motivator was not them. It came from a usual but unexpected source, my dad.

IMG_0294My dad wears multiple hats in my life. He is my hero, my best friend, my coach, and my father. We have a very special relationship that I am very lucky to have. He is the person I never want to disappoint. When I told him on Easter I planned to take this hike I was expecting him to try to talk me out of it and say I should concentrate on my career. Instead, I received a small speech after being told jokingly that I was crazy. He told me, “We only live one life and nothing more. No matter what your beliefs are there is no proof of anything after this. You have to live a life that when you’re about die you can look at and be proud of. If this is something you will regret then it is something you should do, no matter what others say. I wish I still had the knees to hike with you.” These words stuck with me and reminded me of Avici song “The Nights.”

I realized, I was not hiking the PCT to prove that I could do it but to create memories to remember before I am gone.

The PCT will be an adventure and evolves a large amount of preparation. Every step I make on it I will remember the words my dad told me. This will be my motivation and inspiration to get pass every wall I come face to face with. Our life only last for a blink in time, you have to go out and find what you want to experience. There is no time like the present. Get out there and do that one thing you have always wanted to do now. There is no guarantee you will have tomorrow.

Dream Big

Photo is my own

Video is contribute to Avicii

Leave a Reply

