Hunter Creek Trail

Its 6 am on February 21st in Reno, NV and it’s my first day on trail in 2015. This is not a typical February morning in Reno. There is no nerve jolting winter breeze in the air. It’s a toasty 40 degrees out and the temperature is only rising as the sun gets higher and higher. There is usually snow covering the western mountains, surrounding the Reno Valley, but that is not the case this year. Although the groundhog saw its shadow, spring has sprung and its time to wipe off the dust on your boots to get some fresh dust on them.

IMG_1177For my first hike of the year, I decided to hike the Hunker Creek Trail. This is a short 5-mile hike in and out and takes an hour or two to complete. It has a variety of different types of terrain, including desert, woods, and a waterfall at the end. During this time of the year there is usually either snow on the upper trail and creek running down the mountain. The trail also has some obstacles, such as bouldering and crossings, as well as multiple switchbacks.

Today was not my first time on the trail. This is one of my favorite quick hikes in the Reno area. When I pulled on Plateau rd. the sun was just peaking its head over the eastern mountains. There were a few cars in the parking lot but no one to be found. Although I broke my rule from my second post, Your First Step, to never hike alone, it was great to getaway and free the mind.

It took over thirty minutes to see another person on the trail. Which surprised me because this trail is usually filled with dog walkers, joggers, and families. I made it to the falls in about an hour stopping periodically to take in the view. The waterfall was flowing decent from the snowmelt and had some ice formed on it. I completed the hike around 9 am with some dust, mud, and a clear mind. If you are in the Reno area this is an easy hike to do. Post your pictures from the hike or tell me about another good hike to take where you are.

 

Leave a Reply

