Making a List

Preparing for your first hike. This is an exciting event especially if you have never been on a hike before. You might be scared to see a bear or might feel like you’re missing something. On my first hike the last thing on my mind was supplies. I was more worried about being eaten by a bear. Although nothing went wrong on my first hike, when I only had a beach towel but that is a story for a different time, I soon realized that I didn’t have everything I needed. To fix this problem I created a list.

Your hiking list should include the essentials you need for survival. Recreational Equipment Inc. (REI) has created a list of essentials that I have used on all of my day hikes:

  1. Navigation
  2. Sun Protection
  3. Insulation
  4. Illumination
  5. First-Aid Supplies
  6. Fire
  7. Repair Kit and Tools
  8. Nutrition
  9. Hydration
  10. Shelter

Navigation includes maps and understanding the terrain you are hiking. Sun protection is a crucial necessity. One of the most common injuries while hiking are sunburns. Insulation is very important for staying cool and staying warm. Hypothermia and heat exhaustion are life threating physical disorders that may result from improper insulation. Nutrition and Hydration both go hand in hand. You should bring at least 1 liter for every three hours or a water purifier. In addition having a meal as well as bring non-perishable protein bar is always advised. These are the necessities for a normal hike. The remaining steps are designed to protect in an abnormal event.

The REI list is a great guideline to have while creating a list but should not be your list. Your list should be personal. Your list should include items needed for your particular terrain, physical needs, and desirers. My list personally includes a camera to capture moments to look back on. If you have any unusual items on your list please share.

Leave a Reply

